Vice Chancellor

Faculty of Law

Name of Faculty:                    Faculty of Law
Name of Dean Of Faculty:     Prof. L. I. Worika
Contact E-mail:                     This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 
Contact Phone Number(s):    07057827180
Brief Information about the Faculty of Law:
For nearly forty years of the establishment of the University of Port Harcourt as one of Nigeria’s second generation Universities, it did not have a Faculty of Law.  Hence, the recent establishment of a Faculty of Law in the University of Port Harcourt is a welcomed development, considering the intense clamour from individuals and organizations for the establishment of a Faculty of Law in the University to satisfy the increasing demand for quality legal education in the regionin particular, and the nation at large.A major objective of the Faculty of Law which has two departments – Department of Public Law and Department of Private Law – is to develop, promote and sustain innovative and high quality legal education and research. To this effect,in its unique way, the University has recruited experienced and seasoned academic staff to methodically guide prospective students through the University’s law programme. An environment conducive for legal studies, research and community engagement with the law has also been provided by the University.Therefore, the new Faculty of Law promises all prospective students excellence in teaching and all-around satisfaction in learning. 
List of Departments
1) Commercial and Industrial Law
2) Jurisprudence and International Law
3) Private Law
4) Public Law