Lale Unveils Ex-VCs’ Portraits In Senate Chambers

As a way of keeping the institutional memory of past Vice Chancellors of University of Port Harcourt, the outgoing Vice Chancellor, Professor Ndowa Lale, has unveiled the portraits of all his predecessors in the order of their years of appointment.

The masterstroke pencil portraits of the past Vice Chancellors, each of which measures “16х12” would be on permanent display at the Senate Chambers.

The portraits are those of pioneer Vice Chancellor, Professor Donald E. U. Ekong, his immediate successor, Professor Sylvanus J. S. Cookey, 3rd Vice Chancellor, Professor Kelsey A. Harrison, 4th Vice Chancellor, Professor Theo Vincent, 5th Vice Chancellor, Emeritus Professor Nimi D. Briggs, 6th Vice Chancellor, Professor Don M. Baridam and 7th Vice Chancellor, Professor Joseph A. Ajienka. The portrait of the 8th Vice Chancellor, Professor Lale E. S. was also unveiled at the brief ceremony.

Principal Officers who joined Professor Lale at the ceremony were the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration), Professor Regina Ogali, Registrar, Mrs Dorcas Otto, Bursar, Dr Felicia Ayuwo and the University Librarian, Dr Susan Umeozor. Also present were the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, Professor Barisua Nwinee, Director of Quality Assurance and Quality Control, Professor Ikechukwu Agbagwa, Deputy Registrar (Information), Williams Wodi and Special Assistant to the Vice Chancellor, Mr Kingsley Wogwu.

Credit: Otikor Samuel, UniPort News

You are here: Home News & Events Featured News Lale Unveils Ex-VCs’ Portraits In Senate Chambers