Senate Elects Ofurum, Iheanacho, Ifeanacho, Frank-Peterside As Representatives To Council

By Otikor Samuel and Sam Kpenu


Senate of the University has elected four statutory members to represent it in the Governing Council. Those elected are: Professors Clifford Ofurum, Ngozi Iheanacho, Martin Ifeanacho and Nnenna FrankPeterside. The four representatives emerged in an election conducted as part of the agenda for the 454th Senate Meeting held on Wednesday, April 28, 2021 at the Senate Chamber inside Senate Building, University Park. 
Earlier, Director of Academic Affairs, Dr Agatha Ataga, who represented the Registry in the conduct of the election, stated that a total of 276 Senate members were accredited for the election. She also announced that the rule allowed only statutory members of Senate to be voted for in the elections of internal members of the Governing Council, Boards and Committees.
Speaking before the election, Chairman of Senate and Acting Vice Chancellor, Professor Stephen Okodudu, disclosed that nine candidates indicated interest to represent Senate as internal members of Council. Announcing the result of the election, the Chairman of Senate, who was also the Chief Electoral Officer stated that Professors Ofurum garnered 164 votes, Iheanacho polled 151, Ifeanacho had 126, while Frank-Peterside polled 125. Professors Iyeopu Siminialayi scored 109, Chukwudi Onyeaso polled 108, while Olufemi Adesope and Victor Inoka got 99 and 10, respectively.
Meanwhile, Senate has approved a Postgraduate Diploma programme in Nursing Science, Master of Science degrees programmes in Fertility Nursing and Public Health Nursing, Postgraduate Diploma in Environmental and Petroleum Toxicology and Master of Science degree programme in Environmental and Petroleum Toxicology to be domiciled in the Africa Centre of Excellence in Public Health and Toxicological Research (ACE-PUTOR). Senate also approved the review of both Doctoral and Master of 
For the Boards and Committees, Professors Betty-Ruth Iruloh and Lucky Akaruese were elected for the Appointments and Promotions Committee (SPATS), Professors Raphael Ngochindo and Johnson Nna were elected to serve on the board of the Institute of Agriculture, Research and Development (IARD), while Professors Samuel Uzoigwe and Johnson Okpako are to serve on the boards of University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital (UPTH) and College of Continuing Education, respectively. Professors Christie Omego and Gabriel Oladipo are to serve on the board of University Demonstration Primary School, while Professors Clara Olele and Prince Asagba are to serve on the board of the University Demonstration Secondary School Science degrees programmes in Occupational Health, Safety and Environment for the Centre for Occupational Health, Safety and Environment (COHSE).The apex academic decision-making body, gave approval to the Acting Vice Chancellor to appoint an Academic Coordinator to temporarily run the office of the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) pending the election of a substantive officer for the position. Senate approved degree results for the Faculties of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Education, Engineering, Agriculture, College of Health Sciences and School of Graduate Studies. It also considered and approved requests and applications from the School of Science Laboratory Technology and Management Sciences. Senate also ratified degree results executively approved by the Acting Vice Chancellor.The august body considered and approved Report of the Resource Verification Exercise at Federal Polytechnic Oko, Anambra, which was presented by Director, Local Affiliations and Accreditation Centre, Professor Gideon Abu. Senate lauded members of the Certificate Verification Committee for faithfully discharging their duties. Senate considered and approved the constitution of a Committee to fine-tune the recommendation of the report presented by the Chairman, Degree Results Verification Committee, Dr Ganiyu Adekola on how best to calculate the Cumulative Grade Point Average for University-wide Best Graduating Student. Senate also considered and approved most of the recommendations of the report of the Committee on Revitalisation of School of Graduate Studies, Centres, Institutes and College of Continuing Education Programmes (CORSICCP). It deferred the constitution of another Committee to examine the financial standing of the School of Graduate Studies in terms of income and expenditure as recommended by CORSICCP. Senate also deferred deliberations on the report of establishment of Department of Family Medicine. It stepped down reports of the Senate Committee to Review the Report of the Visitation Panel to the Faculty of Education, Special Committee on Anti-Plagiarism and recommendations from the Senate Committee on Academic Programmes and Policies (SCAPP). The recommendations from SCAPP which were deferred for future deliberations included the establishment of a Faculty of Computing, Bachelor's degree programme in Medical Laboratory Science (BMLS), Bachelor of Science in Insurance and Actuary Science, Bachelor of Science (Education) in Agricultural Science programme and consideration of the curriculum for Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm D) programme. Earlier in his brief, the Chairman announced some appointments in the University, pointing out that four out of the six positions of Principal Officers were vacant. He commended members of Senate and other staff for rising to the occasion of normalising the academic calendar following the setback occasioned by the COVID-19 pandemic and industrial action embarked upon by the Academic Staff Union of Universities.

You are here: Home News & Events Featured News Senate Elects Ofurum, Iheanacho, Ifeanacho, Frank-Peterside As Representatives To Council