UniPort Bids 16 Profs Farewell

By Humphrey Ogu and Sunny Dada

It was at the hallowed Chambers of the University Senate on Wednesday, December 14, 2022, when 16 Professors from various Faculties dressed in academic gown were led in a solemn procession by the Director, Academic Affairs, Dr Agatha Ataga. The august gathering was the 14th Valedictory Senate Session in honour of the resplendently dressed retiring Professors. Their colleagues, friends, former students and well-wishers, who were on hand to bid them farewell into a well-deserved retirement.

The roll call commenced with each of the retiring erudite scholars taking his or her turn to stand at the podium while their citations were being read by the Dean of their respective Faculties. In an emotion laden voice, the Vice Chancellor and Chairman of Senate, Professor Owunari Georgewill, who extolled the virtues of the academic icons, described the 14th Valedictory Session as a day of mixed feelings. The Vice Chancellor was represented by the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration), Professor Clifford Ofurum.

Also on hand were Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic), Professor Kingsley Owete, his counterpart in charge of Research and D e v e l o p m e n t , P r o f e s s o r I y e o p u Siminialayi, Registrar and Secretary to the Governing Council, Dr Gloria Chindah to bid the erudite scholars farewell, following their over 35 years of meritorious services to the University.

Among the retiring scholars were Professors Augustus Gbosi of the Department of Economics, Joseph Ebeniro of the Department of Physics, Charity Okujagu, and Oamen Abumere of the same Department. Others include Professors Francis Sikoki of the Department of Animal and Environmental Biology, Gideon Okpakwasili of the Department of Microbiology, Onyewuchi Akaranta of the Department of Pure and Industrial Chemistry all of the Faculty of Science, which had six retirees.

Faculty of Education bid four of its erudite scholars farewell. They are Professors Igho Joe of the Department of Educational Psychology, Guidance and Counselling, Ifeanyi Nzeneri of the Department of Adult and Non-Formal Education, Chinyerem Madumere-Obike of the Department of Educational Management, Clara Olele of Department of Curriculum Studies and Educational Technology. Faculty of Management Sciences also bid two of its Professors goodbye, they are Emmanuel Ibanichuka of the Department of Accounting and Sylva Kalu of the Department of Marketing.

Professors Michael Onyekonwu of the Department of Petroleum Engineering, Kanu Nkanginieme of the Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, Blessing Didia of Human Anatomy were among those who bowed out from the Faculties of Engineering, Clinical Sciences and Basic Medical Sciences respectively.

Recalling the resolutions that marked the commencement of Valedictory Sessions in the University, the Chairman of the Senate stated that its 372nd sitting held on Wednesday, February 23, 2011, the Senate of the University approved that Valedictory Session be held in honour of all retired Professors who are not on contract including those who have concluded their contract appointments in the University.

Paying glowing tributes to the retiring Professors, the Chairman saluted their giant strides, stating that although they are disengaging from the services of the University, they are free to come around at anytime. In an atmosphere of nostalgia, fanfare and gratitude to God for successful retirement, the 16 Professors were bade farewell from the University.

You are here: Home News & Events Featured News UniPort Bids 16 Profs Farewell