Uniport Policy

Ofurum, Efemini, Siminialayi Emerge DVCs Admin, Acad, R&D At 459th Senate Meeting

By Otikor Samuel and Humphrey Ogu


Senate of the University has elected three of its statutory members to serve the institution as Deputy Vice Chancellors in charge of Administration, Academic and Research and Development (R&D). The Deputy Vice Chancellors are: Professor Clifford Ofurum of the Department of Management, Faculty of Management Sciences for Administration, Professor Andrew Efemini of the Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Humanities for Academic and Provost, College of Health Sciences, Professor Iyeopu Siminialayi for Research and Development. The election was the sole item for the 459th Meeting of Senate (Extraordinary) held at the Senate Chamber, University Park, on Wednesday, July 28, 2021.

The Vice Chancellor had in line with the enabling Act of the University nominated two statutory members of Senate for each of the positions, preparatory to the election by members of Senate. For the position of the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration), Professors Clifford Ofurum and Chinedu Ogbuji were nominated by the Vice Chancellor. Before the poll, Professor Ogbuji stepped down for Professor Ofurum who scored 182. Professors Hope Kagbo and Sydney Aprioku also stepped down for Professors Efemini and Siminialayi, who polled 174 and 192, respectively.

Speaking earlier in his first outing as the Chairman of Senate following his new appointment as Vice Chancellor, Professor Owunari Georgewill, officially informed Senate of his assumption of office as the ninth Vice Chancellor. He expressed gratitude to the 8th Vice Chancellor, Professor Ndowa Lale and immediate past Acting Vice Chancellor, Professor Stephen Okodudu for their efforts in repositioning the University for better service delivery, pledging to build on their success stories to move the University forward. He solicited the support of members of Senate to enable him succeed in office.

The Chairman of Senate announced some recent appointments including that of Professor Patrick Eghwrudjakpor as Chairman of the Board of MacArthur Clinical Skills Laboratory (MCSL).

You are here: Home About Us Uniport Policy Uncategorised Ofurum, Efemini, Siminialayi Emerge DVCs Admin, Acad, R&D At 459th Senate Meeting