Senate Holds Valedictory Session for 11 Retiring Professors

By Humphrey Ogu


Senate of the University held a Valedictory Session on Wednesday, December 1, 2021 in honour of 11 retiring Professors from various Faculties and Departments. Of the 11 retiring members of the Senate, three are from the Faculty of Humanities, two from Faculty of Education, three from the Faculty of Clinical Sciences and the rest from the Faculty of Engineering.

Those honoured include Professor Iheanachor Akakuru of the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, Professor Sylvanus Udoidem of the Department of Philosophy, Professor Michael Emeji of the Department of Fine Arts and Design, Professors Ebi Awotua-Efebo of Department of Curriculum Studies and Educational Technology, Professors Elizabeth Okeke of the Department of Educational Foundations.

Others include Professor Anthony Ibe of Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering, Professors Tambari Leton and Samuel Ejezie of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Also honoured were Professors Osaretin Odia and Anele Ihekwaba of the Department of Medicine and Professor Oseikhuemen Ejele of Department of Haematology and Blood Transfusion.

In his remarks, Vice Chancellor, Professor Owunari Georgewill, paid glowing tributes to the retiring Professors, thanking them for their services to the University. He noted that their contributions would be in permanent Some of the Valedictorians remembrance in the history of the University.

"They deserve a dignified exit from this Senate Chamber and academic community. Let me hasten to remind them that their individual DNAs are inextricably tied to the University of Port Harcourt as long as they are alive, no matter where they may choose to be after today. We wish to express our collective gratitude to them for their services. They will always be part of us." he said. 

You are here: Home News & Events Featured News Senate Holds Valedictory Session for 11 Retiring Professors