NMA, Other Medical Bodies Honour Fawehinmi

Three separate professional bodies, including the Rivers State Branch of the Nigerian Medical Association (NMA), the Anatomical Students’ Society of Nigeria (ASSON) and the Port Harcourt Medical Students Association (PUMSA), have separately honoured the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Hakeem Fawehinmi for his contributions to the growth of the medical profession.
The awards were given to Professor Fawehinmi at separate events organised by the State Branch of NMA and student affiliates of the medical practitioners’ bodies in the University, in recognition of his track records as former President of Port Harcourt University Medical Students Association in 1990, erstwhilePresident of the Nigerian Medical Students Association in 1991 and Patron and Staff Adviser to PUMSA and ASSON, respectively.

The Rivers State Branch of the Nigerian Medical Association in a letter dated July 11, 2016, and signed by the Secretary, Dr. Kennedy Nkporbu, said the recognition of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor was in recognition of his outstanding commitment to the growth of the medical profession spanning several years of teaching and practice. 
“I am pleased to inform you that the State Executive Council, as well as the State Officers’ Committee of the Nigerian Medical Association, Rivers State Branch, after careful consideration of your commitment, and contributions to the growth and activities of the Association in the State and indeed the medical profession assessment of your outstanding personality and also your enviable achievement in the medical profession, unequivocally making you an ideal role model, have approved your nomination for the above award,” read part of the letter.
The award by the NMA was bestowed on Professor Fawehinmi on Saturday, July 23, 2016 as part of the highpoints of the Annual General Meeting/Scientific Conference held between 14 and 23 July, 2016 at the Atlantic Hall, Hotel Presidential in Port Harcourt.
Professor Fawehinmi was one of the three distinguished personalities who received the NMA Award of Excellence.
Other recipients of the Award of Excellence were: Drs. Adenike Abuwa and Hope Winston Bell-Gam, while Rev. (Dr.) Israel Kue, Dr. Benneth Okafor, Sir (Dr.) Otonye Danagogo and Professor Jacob Adotey were recipients of the Roll of Honour Awards 

The harvest of awards which also came from the Port Harcourt Medical Students Association under the leadership of Nnoka Valentine and the University of Port Harcourt Chapter of the Anatomical Students’ Society of Nigeria, all cited Professor Fawehinmi for his untiring support to the growth and wellbeing of the awarding bodies. The awards by the student bodies were bestowed on the Deputy Vice-Chancellor in the month of July, 2016.

Presenting the award to Professor Fawehinmi, UniPort Chapter President of ASSON, Samuel Agumagu, described him as an outstanding teacher, explaining that the Award of Honour was given to their mentor in appreciation of his meritorious service and exceptional role towards the development of Human Anatomy in Nigeria and beyond.


You are here: Home News & Events Featured News NMA, Other Medical Bodies Honour Fawehinmi