Senate Elects Reps Into New Governing Council, Boards ...As Academic Activities Resume Today

The Senate has elected four of its members to represent it in the newly-reconstituted Governing Council of the University. The four academics were elected at the 427th Extraordinary Meeting of Senate which held on Thursday, January 19, 2017. They are: Professors Anthonia Okerengwo, Henry Alapiki, Femi Shaka and Anthony Ihekwaba.

The Chairman of Senate announced Professor Mvedega Jibo from Benue State as the new Chairman of Council, while Chief Johnson Okafor (Imo), Mr. Joseph Fafi (Bayelsa), Hajiya Lubabatu Lawal Ammani (Zamfara) and Bello Duku (Gombe) complete the external membership of the policy making body. Congregation is expected to receive nominations for one Teaching and a Non-Teaching Staff to be voted into the new Council.

The winners of the election polled the highest votes among nine candidates that contested the election to represent the highest academic policy-making body in the new Governing Council.

Of the 234 members of Senate who cast their votes for various candidates during the keenly contested election, immediate past Chairperson of the local branch of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Professor Anthonia Okerengwo, polled a total of 142 votes. She was followed by the Director of the University of Port Harcourt Foundation, Professor Henry Alapiki who received 123 votes to secure a place in Council. Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Professor Femi Shaka polled 121 votes, while Professor Anthony Ihekwaba of the College of Health Sciences polled a total of 110 votes, respectively.

Professors Chukwudi Onyeaso and Barisua Nwinee scored a tie of 97 votes in fifth place. Former Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture, Professor Love Akonye got 80 votes, Professor Adewale Dosunmu scored 53 votes, while Professor Ibitamuno Aminigo got 33, respectively.

The Vice-Chancellor and Chairman of Senate, Professor Ndowa Lale, announced the four candidates with the highest votes as elected representatives of Senate to the new Governing Council which was recently reconstituted by the Federal Government. The electoral process was supervised by the Registrar, Mrs. Dorcas Otto, who was assisted by other staff of the Academic Office.

Senate also elected ten other representatives into various Boards and Committees. They are: Professor Adewale Dosunmu (Senior Staff Disciplinary Committee), Professor Matthew Wegwu (Institute of Agricultural Research and Development), Professor Paul Iro and Dr. Vincent Wali (Delta Series Editorial Board, Science), Professor Nathaniel Abraham and Dr. John Yeseibo (Delta Series Editorial Board, Arts), Professor Oledinma Nwanna-Nzewunwa and Dr. Tobinson Briggs (Staff Housing Loan Scheme), Professor Josephine Ebong (Publications Committee) and Professor Prince Mmom (Appeals Committee).

The Chairman charged representatives of Senate to the Council to discharge their functions dutifully and with a high sense of responsibility to justify the confidence reposed in them. He frowned at reported cases of some top officers of the University engaging in nocturnal meetings with students on how to unleash mayhem on Campus, warning that there would be no winners in a chaotic setting.

Senate, thereafter, resolved that its representatives to the Governing Council must, henceforth, show accountability by briefing it on a regular basis, urging those elected to leave credible legacies for future generations. 

Senate also received and ratified results from the Faculties of Humanities, Science, Education, Engineering, Management Sciences, School of Science Laboratory Technology, Agriculture and College of Health Sciences. Senate approved all the degree results, mostly Second Semester results of 2015/2016 academic session tabled for consideration by the various Deans and Provost.

Earlier in his brief, the Chairman of Senate welcomed all members of the body to the first Meeting for 2017, adding that the meeting which was initially scheduled for Wednesday, January 18, was moved forward to Thursday to enable the Vice-Chancellor and Registrar attend the inauguration of the new Governing Council in Abuja.

Professor Lale further announced Wednesday, February 1, for the 9th Valedictory Lecture. With the topic: The Other Five Percent: An Exercise in the Gorilla Psychology. The Lecture would be delivered by Professor Francis Ukaigwe of the Department of Geology at the Ebitimi Banigo Auditorium at 3:00pm, while the 10th Valedictory Lecture entitled: Agricultural Practice in a Changing Climate: Beyond Infatuation to Devotion will be delivered by Professor Chidi Ibe also of the Department of Geology on Tuesday, February 7, 2017 at the same venue. Founders' Day celebration is billed for next Monday with Founders' Day Lecture as major highlight. He announced that 38th Matriculation Ceremony will hold on Tuesday, March 14, while the 31st Convocation Ceremony will hold on 24th and 25th March, 2017.

The Chairman of Senate also announced the appointments of Drs. Tochukwu Okonkwo, Chinyelu Ojukwu and Jonah Aprioku, as Acting Heads of Department of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry, English Studies and Experimental Pharmacology and Toxicology, respectively. 

Professor Lale told Senate that the Student Disciplinary and Related Matters Committee (SDRMC) was constituted with Professor Anthonia Okerengwo as Chairman, Mr. Kingsley Wogwu as Secretary, while the Dean of Student Affairs, Dr. Otu Ekpenyong will serve as an Ex-Officio member. Other members of the Committee are: Drs. Uzoma Chima, Chima Wokocha, Gift Worlu, Edward Imo, Gladys Emenike, Tobinson Briggs and Chief Security Officer, Lt. Col. Reginald Isiguzo (rtd).

Following a presentation on the amendments of the date of resumption for the 2016/2017 academic session by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Professor Anthony Ibe, the august body ratified the 2016/2017 Academic Calendar for Full-Time and Sandwich programmes and fixed resumption of academic activities for today. The Vice-Chancellor told Senate that the comprehensive rehabilitation of hostels and classrooms resulted in the adjustment of the academic calendar.

You are here: Home News & Events Featured News Senate Elects Reps Into New Governing Council, Boards ...As Academic Activities Resume Today