Department of Broadcasting

Social Sciences

1.         Name of Faculty:    Faculty of Social Sciences

2.         Name of Dean:        Professor K. A. Anele

3.         Faculty’s Contact E-mail:      This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.                   

4.         Faculty’s Contact Phone Number(s):   08038890832


Faculty of Social Sciences commenced in 1977 with Professor Claude Ake as the first Dean.  The Faculty has since its inception graduated many first degrees, Masters and Ph.D holders.  The Faculty consist of four Deapartments namely: Economics, Geography & Environmental Management, Political & Administrative Studies, Sociology, various Centres and Institutes.

It’s Mission and Vision are to enhance excellence in training, learning research for the ultimate development of the Society and attain excellence in research, teaching, service delivery and practice in finding solution to the problems of industry and Society.  The key Officers of the Faculty are the Dean, Associate Dean, Faculty Officer and Finance Officer.  Its objective is to inculcate into Students through teaching, seminars, symposium and essays, the scientific method of inquiry and high spirit of dedication to the services of Society and humanity at large.  The affairs of the Faculty have been managed by fifteen (15) Deans and fifteen (15) Faculty Officers.


List of Departments in the Faculty:      

Department of Economics

Department of Geography &Environmental Management

Department of Political & Administrative Studies

Department of Sociology

Centre for Conflicts & Gender Studies

Centre for Logistics & Transport Studies

Centre for Disaster Risk Management & Development Studies


Visit for more information