UniPort Inaugurates New Governing Council

By Otikor Samuel


The University of Port Harcourt has inaugurated the 16th Governing Council ndat its 172nd Meeting of Council. The inauguration of both the External and Internal Members took place at the Governing Council Chamber inside Senate Building, University Park on Monday, May 17, 2021. The new Council is headed by Senator Andrew Uchendu as Chairman and Pro-Chancellor. In his Inaugural Address, Senator Uchendu, solicited the support of all stakeholders for the continued growth of the University. “Distinguished ladies and gentlemen, I have come to you with a plea: 'Please let us work together.' Let me confess, I am completely a newcomer to the system of University Administration; I pledge not to take anything or anybody for granted. I have come for us to work together in the overall interest of this Institution,” the Pro-Chancellor said. “Conscious of this unique privilege and the attendant high expectations, I accept this responsibility with great humility. As a newcomer to the system, I most sincerely request your fullest cooperation and support…Let us work hard to identify our individual and group strengths and work together to build on the achievements you all recorded here in the University. We must support and lean on each other in the pursuit of our shared goals,” Chairman of the Council stated. Senator Uchendu disclosed that he was not appointed the Pro-Chancellor with any premeditated agenda, stating that all he hoped to achieve would be done through collective efforts of stakeholders. “No matter who we are, we are all new to this University and cannot claim to know much. We are all from different backgrounds and must be guided and enlightened on the vision, mission, history, laws, plans and programmes and indeed general operations of the University. Therefore, we expect the Management of this Institution to guide us properly. I did not come to meet you with any prepared Agenda or Script,” he added. Other members of Council inaugurated are: Commodore Dan Terver Hinga, Alh Kola Uzamat, Barr Ahmed Al-Mustapha, Dr Ufoegbuna Ogochukwu, Professors Clifford Ofurum, Ngozi Iheanacho, Martin Ifeanacho, Nnenna Frank-Peterside, Nathaniel Abraham and Mrs Flora Iyagba. 

You are here: Home News & Events Featured News UniPort Inaugurates New Governing Council